Texas is one of the most adventurous states in the country. When you visit, the activities you can do are endless, also of course to all the beautiful sceneries that Texans take pride in. It is the place where the ocean meets the oasis. Even a week is not enough to enjoy all that they have to offer. And since it is one of the largest states too, you need to choose a particular area to visit especially when the time is limited.
One of the activities you should never miss though when visiting this west coast state is their lakes. If you are a fan of fishing, then this is the perfect time for you to hire a boat and go out in the open. You will not only enjoy fishing, but you can also enjoy boating and partying there with your friends. And with spring in tow, why not enjoy a relaxing day in the water. You can do a lot of water adventures like water skiing and parasailing. However, when you are partying, do remember to be careful with drinking since they are strict with their DWI and BWI laws.
The Boating While Intoxicated (BWI) does exist and is part of the strict boating laws Texas. It is okay to drink till you drop as long as you do not cause havoc and as long as you are not operating any water vessel. But if you are, it might be better to familiarize yourself first with the Texas boating law.
What is BWI?
BWI is a law prohibiting anyone from operating any watercraft while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A craft is not limited to a boat only; it also includes an aquaplane, a ski and any other water vessel which may be used to transport people on the water. Anyone who is suspected of being impaired by alcohol needs to undergo a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test through blood, urine or breathe. Anyone who exceeds the acceptable BAC of 0.08 percent will get arrested for BWI which has similar consequences to DWI.
The first offense is counted as a misdemeanor charge underclass B. When charged; you can spend a jail time of 72 hours to 180 days and a fine of no more than $2000. However, if it resulted in anyone getting harmed, you can get charged for third-degree felony and sentenced to two to ten years in jail plus a fine not exceeding $10000. Furthermore, if it resulted in death, the sentence is two to twenty years and a fine of up to $10000.
The second offense does not only count previous BWI charges, but it will also include DWI priors. It will get counted as a class A misdemeanor with a penalty of $4000 maximum plus jail time of thirty days to one year.
Your third offense is counted as a third-degree felony, and you may face jail time of two to ten years plus a maximum of $10000 in fines.
If ever you get in trouble for BWI, we can help you out. Just visit our firm for assistance.